1987 marked the birth of the SEREMBAN HALF MARATHON (SHM) ┬áin its present form. The inaugural RUN saw over 4000 participants from far and near taking part. The LUCKY PRIZE of a single-storey terrace house in Taman Tuanku Ja’afar donated by Naga Sakti Sdn Bhd was definitely a crowd puller. The lucky winner was Encik Said Harun

Tuanku Jaafar ibni Almarhum Tuanku Abdul Rahman

Yang di-Pertuan Agong ; Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan

Tuanku Jaafar ibni Almarhum Tuanku Abdul Rahman, GCB was the tenth Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia from 26 April 1994 until 25 April 1999 and the tenth Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan.

At the Press Conference held to promote the RUN, YAM Tunku Naquiyuddin sportingly accepted a challenge to participate in the Half Marathon completed it in 2hrs and 23 minutes (well within the qualifying time) and in the process raised RM21K to kick-start the N S Junior Athletes Trust Fund.

In 1994, the Organisers decided that the SEREMBAN HALF MARATHON would be a FUN RUN. This allowed the serious runners to vie for top honours but the mid-pack and tail-end participants would still be rewarded with PEWTER MEDALS and LUCKY/MYSTERY Prizes.

The 10th Anniversary Run saw the creation of the VIP FUN RUN. Participants included YAM Tunku Naquiyuddin himself and the then Menteri Besar YAB Dato Seri Utama Tan Sri Haji Mohd Isa bin Dato Haji Abdul Samad) who emerged a easy winner.

The 12th RUN in 1999 was yet another auspicious and historical event. It marked the return of our ever-popular Ruler back to Negeri Sembilan after majestically completing his 5-year tenure as the 10th Yang Di Pertuan Agong of Malaysia. To celebrate the auspicious occasion which also coincided with Visit Negeri Sembilan Year, the Corporate Fun Run was created.

2002 was yet another auspicious year for it marked the 80th Birthday of His Royal Highness which makes HRH the oldest ruling monarch in the world today.

Popularity of the RUN gained momentum and 3 schools in Seremban challenged each other to send the highest number of participants for which the school would be rewarded with a RM1,000 prize money kindly donated by Nestle Products Sdn Bhd. The number of participants crossed the 8,000 mark.

2004 witnessed a “Thai” invasion when 7 Thai runners collected a few of the major prizes. This year also marked the passing over of the baton to Y B’hg Dato Zainal Abidin bin Haji Ahmad but Tan Sri Dato Chan Choong Tak remains as the Permanent Hon. Chairman.

2008 marked the 21st Run. Instead of the usual July date, it was held on 26th August 2008 because the MPS Padang was being rehabilitated. Again, it was the usual SUCCESS with close to 9,000 participants with half a dozen Kenyans stealing the show. However, the ten local top finishers were rewarded with double the prize money. Their Royal Highnesses, Tuanku Ja’afar and Tuanku Ampuan graced the Prize -giving ceremony. The audience this year were held spell-bound to a superb lion dance acrobatic display on high stilts. We are also deeply saddened by the sudden demise of our beloved sports-loving Tuanku Ja’afar and pray that HIS soul REST IN PEACE